John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Tags for this Award

science fiction, fantasy, worldcon


Bill Katz (Writertopia admin)
David Walton

Corrections and additions for this page can be sent to a moderator.

Eligible authors should contact a moderator for inclusion in the list.


The John W. Campbell Award is given to the best new science fiction or fantasy writer whose first work of science fiction or fantasy was published in a professional publication in the previous two years. For the 2015 award, which is presented at the World Science Fiction Convention (WorldCon), the qualifying work must have been published in 2013 or 2014.

There can be confusion over the term "professional publication" since the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS), and the award sponsor define it differently. For the purposes of the Campbell Award, professional publications are works sold for more than a nominal amount and published anywhere in the world.

Please refer to the Eligibility F.A.Q. for an explanation of qualifying publications and answers to common questions.

The Campbell Award is administered by the Worldcon, but the rules for awarding the Campbell are determined by the award sponsor, Dell Magazine. Eligibility rules were changed in 2005.

Voting Procedure

The John W. Campbell Award uses the same nomination and voting mechanism as the Hugo, even though the Campbell Award is not a Hugo.

Like the Hugo Awards, the Campbell Award voting takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, is open to anyone who had a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous, current, or following year's Worldcon as of January 31. For Sasquan, this means members of Loncon 3 (the 72st World Science Fiction Convention in San Antonio), Sasquan itself, and MidAmeriCon II (the 74th Worldcon in Kansas City) can nominate any eligible author. This web page helps identify eligible authors for the Campbell Award.

The nomination period for the 2015 award has passed. You can visit the Sasquan website to learn more about the nominations.

To be able to vote for the award, you must be a member of Sasquan (the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention in London). If you are not a member of Sasquan and wish to vote, you must purchase a supporting membership or an attending membership before January 31.

Campbellian Anthology

As a service to voters, we hosted a free distribution of the 2014 Campbellian Anthology, assembled by M. David Blake and published by Rampant Loon Media LLC. A new anthology will be created for the 2015 Campbell Award. Please see the announcment here and submit if you are eligible. We will be working with the publisher to synchronize eligibility lists, so you should be able to notify us of your eligibility either through contacting us or them.

Past Voting Results

2014 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Wesley Chu 1st year
Max Gladstone 2nd year
Ramez Naam 2nd year
Sofia Samatar (winner) 2nd year
Benjanun Sriduangkaew 1st year

2013 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Mur Lafferty (winner) 2nd year
Stina Leicht 2nd year
Chuck Wendig 2nd year
Zen Cho 2nd year
Max Gladstone 1st year

2012 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
E. Lily Yu (winner) 1st year
Mur Lafferty 1st year
Stina Leicht 1st year
Karen Lord 2nd year
Brad R. Torgersen 2nd year

2011 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Saladin Ahmed 2nd year
Lev Grossman (winner) 2nd year
Lauren Beukes 2nd year
Larry Correia 2nd year
Dan Wells 2nd year

2010 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Saladin Ahmed 1st year
Gail Carriger --
Felix Gilman 2nd year
Seanan McGuire (winner) 1st year
Lezli Robyn 2nd year

2009 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
David Anthony Durham (winner) 2nd year
Alliette de Bodard 2nd year
Tony Pi 2nd year
Gord Sellar 2nd year
Felix Gilman 1st year

2008 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Joe Abercrombie 2nd year
Jon Armstrong 1st year
David Anthony Durham 1st year
David Louis Edelman 2nd year
Mary Robinette Kowal (winner) 2nd year
Scott Lynch 2nd year

2007 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
Scott Lynch 1st year
Sarah Monette 2nd year
Naomi Novik (winner) 1st year
Brandon Sanderson 2nd year
Lawrence M. Schoen 2nd year

2006 Campbell Award Finalists

Author Year of Eligibility
John Scalzi (winner) 1st year
K.J. Bishop 2nd year
Sarah Monette 1st year
Chris Roberson 2nd year
Brandon Sanderson 1st year
Steph Swainston 2nd year

Past winners...

Comments from Nominees & Winners

Read more comments...

Wen Spencer
Winner, 2003

To understand the impact of being nominated for the John Campbell Award, one needed the Internet. Prior to 2002, a search on my name only pulled up my website and a handful of places reviewing my book. A month later, however, and my name was spread across the world, along with the word "finalist" translated into every language of man. I cannot see it as coincidence that a short time later, a Russian publisher bought the rights to translate my novels into Russian. Seconds after winning, the news went out again, in the languages of the world, that I was a winner. The John Campbell will be an amazing boast to my career.